DSY & DSY’s

How intertwined, how seperate….

One of the most common phrases I’ve heard is “You are your brand” and I agree, but there’s also an element of anonymity and privacy that I want.

So far, on social media I have intentionally tried to keep my business page separate to me personally as it’s intended to be a tool and promotional platform accessible to and for everyone, however lots of feedback, conversations and most importantly REFLECTION has made me realise that when things are personal its more relatable. Being in my mid 30’s, social media is a very tricky place for me to manoeuvre and fully endorse. I’m in that in-between generation of knowing the power of it, while not being co dependant on it. Often for me, I’ve noticed that balance of sharing enough, oversharing and sharing for the sake of is a very fine line, and if I’m being 100% honest, I’m not here to be an influencer.

I tend to share my more personal posts to my (then private) and personal page. For this particular challenge/purpose, posts will be shared between here and my personal page, as I can and will make it private when I feel the need, we need to get into the practice of creating boundaries as a means to protect ourselves and what’s important to us without the need for apology.
Naturally in my role, people want to know more, and during events I am as transparent and as honest as I am able to be, this “WWW” vulnerability though is a whole other level that I don’t know if I ever want to be ready for if I’m being honest – however I’m going to challenge myself, by providing excerpts, where they are applicable and comfortable for me – especially as I would like to re-launch Cake and conversations again this year. (Keep an eye out for that!)
I’m literally just ‘doing me’ and hoping DSY Socials can encourage other people to be their best selves.
Somehow, I’m able to tell you my story without telling you my business, (Yes there’s a difference and it’s all in the detail) and I truly think this bothers some people. For the most part I am qualified by my experiences and things I’ve had to overcome as opposed to my degree and educational background. If I don’t understand or know much of it, I keep quiet and listen unless I’m asking questions.
So Davinia, the happy-go-lucky girl that is rarely bothered by anything. (If you really believe this, then we must have a whole other conversation!!!) So many people have asked me how nothing affects me, how come I’m still ok, and a whole heap of questions that have me thinking “OMG, I must be radiating some different type of energy.” Those that know me, know me; know that I too am a being that goes through things too, and I like everyone else suffer and struggle at times, with everything.
My blog is a life blog, (something I have wholeheartedly been neglecting) it’s about taking people on the journey as I’m experiencing it, but only when I’m ready and willing to share – I’m pulling the vulnerability card again! So, you will see places where I’ve matured or changed perspective etc, but that’s the whole part of my life journey. Here, is where I tend to go more in-depth and set personal challenges. Initially posts here and on Social media were supposed to link, and sometimes they have I just haven’t published, so here’s to trying that again!

Website: http://www.dsysocials.com
All social media @dsysocials
Contact me directly on: contact@dsysocials.com
All other enquiries: admin@dsysocials.com

Blessings

Dx

Leave a comment