Ms DSY

I’m shy until I’m not.
I give until I can’t anymore.
I will trust you until you give me a reason not to.

I cry when I’m happy
I cry when I’m sad
I cry when I’m angry
I cry when I win
I cry when I’m overwhelmed
I cry, I cry, I cry. Right now I’m crying
I cry about the memories
I cry about the pain
I cry because of past trauma, that lies dormant and unresolved.
I cry over virtually everything, so much of my story remains untold.

I be crying all the time
Its all good it cleanses my soul.
That internal shower, one you’ll never watch me take.
If you ever get to witness it, chances are it was unplanned
My ego would never let that be cause I gotta be the “man”
Now you see why I have such an issue with the word strong
Had the meaning and the emphasis all messed up for so long
So many confused behaviours that need to be undone.
No matter how strong and together I used to look to you
You know that old Jamaican saying?
Mi did ah cut and go t’rough…

Resilient – that’s the word I love cause look how far I’ve come
May I bend, but never break as I continue on.
I’m so proud of the woman I am today and all the things I’ve overcome
Here I am taking a bathe again, cause the feeling be all … hmm.. I dunno…
Look as hard as you want to, I told you my nakedness I’m not gonna show

Cause
I smile when I’m happy
I smile when I’m sad
I smile when I’m angry
I smile when I win
I smile through the overwhelm
I smile, I smile, I smile. Right now I’m smiling
I smile about the memories
I snile through the pain
I smile because I’m flippin’ the trauma, and the lies that I hold.
I smile through virtually everything, with gratitude as the rest of my story unfolds.

Dx

Leave a comment